Brewmiscuity

You are probably wondering who these people are and what gives them the right to create such delicious words.  Well lucky for you, that’s the point of this post. First off, these delicious words, Brewmiscuous and Brewmiscuity, are called Portmanteaus.  Seriously though, we’re anthropologists.  We took intro to linguistics.  In laymen’s terms a portmanteau is when two perfectly acceptable words get drunk, hook up, wake up in the morning feeling awkward, go through a should I call that word again or was it just a one night stand phase, then get stuck with each other for life when they find out a little portmanteau is on the way. 

Definitions:

Brewmiscuous –adjective, characterized by or involving indiscriminate mingling or association with craft beer. Having beer relations with a number of bottles/cans/pints (occasionally kegs) on a casual basis.

Brewmiscuity –noun, undiscriminating craft beer drinking behavior: behavior characterized by casual and indiscriminate craft beer consumption, often with many people and many different beers.

These words describe our desire and tendency to sample as many different types of craft beer as possible without feeling like we are cheating on any one brand. 

At this point I’m sure you are wondering who “we” are.  We are newlyweds from Kansas with a taste for beer.  On our honeymoon we sampled a lot of beers (over 100 in six days) and took notes on all of them.  After much discussion about what were going to dowith all those notes we decided to start a beer blog.

I’m  Austin (I’m the one in the pic with the beard) I am a brewer trapped in an archaeologist’s body and she is a bioarchaeologist/avid gardener/domestic goddess (whichever one she chooses to be, the one without the beard).  My profession has led me to do a lot of traveling as well as a lot of drinking.  I spent most of our six year courtship trying to get Amber into beer.  It took some time, but now she’s as excited about beer as I am. FYI the picture was taken at Widmer Brothers Gausthaus in Portalnd, OR.   

Austin: It all started in college…..

I grew up in Kansas and all I really ever knew about beer was the mass produced domestic variety, Budweiser (Bud Diesel or Heavy depending on what part of Kansas you’re from), Bud light, Coors light, Miller lite, Keystone Light, and Natural Light (Natty Light or Nasty Light – take your pick).  Eventually, I reached a point where I wanted something different.  My roommate and best friend (we’re reciprocal best man buddies) and I decided to go to the liquor store and look around.  We didn’t feel up to trying something like Boulevard or Sam Adams.   They seemed a little too different to us.  So we went for the imports, Foster’s and Heineken specifically.  We also tried some Rolling Rock.  I know, I know, you are probably saying WhatThe F#@&?!Those beers suck.  It’s true. They are not anywhere near my favorites now, but they were a mere stepping stone into much better beer.  My next purchase was Guinness and Sam Adams Light.  It wasn’t much of a stepping stone, more like walking off a plank into a sand pit filled with sharp teeth and bounty hunters (sorry for the Star Wars imagery, but you get the point).  The point is that those import beers got me to try something I had never had before.  That Guinness was so amazing that I have been in love with dark beers ever since.  The Sam Adams Light made me fall in love with hoppy beers.  Since then I have had a countless number of beers from all over the U.S. (I have a collection of T-shirts and pint glasses to prove it).  Whenever I travel I try to seek out and sample the local beer scene. This love affair (borderline obsession?) that I have with beer is why I decided I needed to tell people (and keep track of what I have sampled) about some amazing beers.  The problem I have with “beer drinkers” in Kansas is that they really like watered down rice/corn beer that is no longer American owned.  That’s right patriots, most of your “domestics” are owned by foreign conglomerates.  This blog is a way for me to reach out and show people beer should be made with quality ingredients by hard working people.  If you want rice beer then drink Sake (Rice is a grain and sake is fermented, not distilled.  Therefore, Sake=beer).  If you want a corn beer then drink Chicha (it’s a Latin America drink made from corn that has been chewed by the brewers and allowed to ferment; no seriously, Dogfish Head Craft Brewery from Milton DE made it and put it on tap). 

Amber: For the record, I loved the first beer I ever had.  Shortly after however, I made some poor decisions which led to a decade of aversion.  I’m not sure I would have ever gotten over it if Austin hadn’t been so damn persistent.  He offered me a taste of almost every beer he drank in my presence for years.  I tried some.  At first they all just tasted “like beer” and made me feel a little sick to my stomach.  He even bought me fruit beer.  That’s a pretty big deal.  Austin is VERY discriminating about the use of fruit in beer and I’m pretty sure he thinks the vast majority of fruit beers border on heresy.  I tried really hard and I got maybe half way through a few bottles before they were warm and I really couldn’t drink anymore.  This went on for years.  Literally, years.  At some point the aversion stopped.  I don’t remember a moment when I first liked beer, but I did finally realize that I did much better with anything that wasn’t a domestic pilsner.  I was an ale person, not a lager one (surprising coming from a German).  This was a major realization and one I think could completely change a lot of people’s worlds.  I enjoy lagers now, but since the aversion scenario involved a pilsner it took a little longer.

There are tons of bloggers out there discussing beer but hearing about it from us will hopefully be more fun.  I might get technical in my descriptions and I might not. It really just depends on how much sampling I might be doing (wink wink nudge nudge).  The thing I want to do is spread the love of craft beer while I continue to learn about different beers. 

You may have to bare with us while we figure out the most effective formula to keep you highly entertained and sampling new beers and we’ll try not to obsess about beer you can’t get in Kansas. 

***Bias Warning***

I currently volunteer at a local brewery, Tallgrass Brewing Co., so there will probably be times that I slip into a rave about their beers.  It’s only because they are good beers and from Kansas.  Won’t you Pour a Pint of Ale and enjoy?

****This has been a test of the Bias Warning system.  In the event that any more bias happens please run to your refrigerator grab a cold can/bottle of craft beer, pour into a glass and consume while reading. This has been a test of the Bias Warning system.****

A few things that we want to do with this blog are:

Provide information about beer (history, style, flavor, smell, pouring technique, news stories, and random other tidbits).

Learn more about beer….if you have a beer or place we should try let us know

Share our experiences with home brewing (still learning)

Share our experiences of trying to (someday) open a brewpub or brewery

There will probably be other things that will crop up but for now this is our list.  Now a list of things we will try not to do….

Politics- First rule of “starting a fight club” club you don’t talk about politics with people you don’t know while consuming a wonderfully crafted beer, unless we’re talking alcohol/beer legislation. 

Religion- Second rule of “starting a fight club” club is you don’t discuss people’s view of theology (unless it’s about the religious use of beer or alcohol in ceremonies OR you are a trained anthropologist)

So pull up a chair, pour a pint, and let’s enjoy a beer together.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

