Pale Ale (Stone Brewing Co.)

We were living in Atlanta the first time I came across Stone Brewing Company’s beers.  It wasn’t the Pale Ale but their Arrogant Bastard Ale that I first tried.  Since then whenever I have a chance to try something from the North County San Diego (the translation has been lost but I believe it means a whale’s vagina in Spanish) brewery.  I tried the Pale Ale while living in Atlanta at a bar (I believe it was Taco Mac or the Brickstore Pub both in Decatur) but that was long enough ago I don’t remember my reactions to it.  I was very excited on our recent trip to Denver to find some at a liquor store.  Since it was summer and Pale Ales are perfect for summer drinking, I thought it would be great to get some and do a review on it.  The only problem with this is that it is yet another great beer that we can’t get in Kansas.

The aroma from the Pale Ale was a little fruity with just a hint of hops.  The color of the head was a light tan that dissipated quickly (probably due to the 100 degree heat).  The body was a coppery brown or amber color.  The taste was fantastic.  The beer was crisp with an initial sweetness and a nice bitter finish.  There was a little more carbonation than a few other Pale Ales I’ve had but it was still refreshing.  I did notice though that the hop flavor sticks to your tongue.  This beer tops out at 41 IBUs and 5.4% ABV.

As I said at the beginning of this review I haven’t had a bad beer from Stone Brewing Co.  With beers like Arrogant Bastard, Sublimely Self-Righteous Ale, Double Bastard Ale, Levitation Ale, and Ruination IPA how can you not like them? After all they love themselves and are very cocky about it (seriously just read the bottle some time, especially the Arrogant Bastard).

Pale Ales are almost a staple beer and any brewery or brewpub so here’s a few local Pale Ales to quench your thirst;

No. 1 Pale Ale – Lb. Brewing Co.

No. 23 Classic English Pale Ale – Lb. Brewing Co. (seasonal)

Holy Grail Pale Ale – Bling Tiger

Copperhead Pale Ale – Free State Brewing Co.

Prairie Pale Ale – Little Apple Brewing Co.

Pale Ale – Boulevard Brewing Co.

Cardinal Pale Ale – Nebraska Brewing Co.

DPA (Denver Pale Ale) – Great Divide Brewing Co.

Prost!

One response to “Pale Ale (Stone Brewing Co.)

  1. Pingback: Pale Ale (Sierra Nevada) | Brewmiscuous

Leave a Reply

