Schlafly Pumpkin Ale (St. Louis Brewing Co.): Week 1

First off the fact that we bought this beer in September seems to me to be to early for this type of seasonal ale.  I don’t really think so since some pumpkins are ready to harvest in September. Don’t get me wrong I really enjoy pumpkin ales.  I just don’t like that the seasonal beers seem to come out earlier and earlier every year.  Kind of like how Chirstmas stuff will start appearing on shelves a week or two before Halloween (or in some cases in August, Hobby Lobby I’m looking at you).

With that point made and thinking about how we didn’t like the Shiner Smokehaus early on we’ve decided to drink 1 of these a week for 6 weeks to see if the flavor changes.  The idea is to see if perhaps these beers are coming out too early or if we all need to suck it up and buy some early on so we can let them sit in a corner until mid October.  So here is week 1’s review.

The aroma was a pretty strong nutmeg, clove, and cinnamon explosion in my nose.  Oh yeah and there was a hint of pumpkin but that was pretty much drowned out by the spices.  I only noticed the nutmeg. NUTMEG! And cloves. But sure, maybe there was cinnamon and pumpkin in there somewhere. I might have called it nutmeg ale (like ginger ale) instead for accuracy. The color of the head was off white and the body brown with a reddish tint.  The taste was just what the aroma was cinnamon, nutmeg, a little clove, and sweet.  Not a good sweet more like a sugary sweet that might cause diabetes.   Imminent diabetes. It was super sweet and kind of made my stomach hurt.  I don’t know if I’ll be tasting this for all 5 more weeks.I’ll try though. I have faith that this must be too young. To be honest, it reminds me of the smell a pumpkin pie has while baking.  Speaking of baking as it warms it becomes way more spice like.  I know, it sounds hard to imagine.

So what have we learned from Week 1 of Schlafly Pumpkin Ale?  My vote is let it sit and see what happens.  The spices and sweetness need to mellow out a lot more for me to enjoy it.  But that’s just my opinion.  Perhaps some of you can play along and do the same thing and see if you agree or disagree.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

