Schlafly Pumpkin Ale (St. Louis Brewing Co.): Week 2

Week 2 of the Schlafly Pumpkin Ale did it come out too early taste test.  Let’s see how it does.

The color isn’t going to change so don’t hope for that to happen.  The aroma was very cinnamon and nutmegy.  The taste again was very cinnamony, nutmegy, with just a hint of cloves.  I think the nutmeg toned down and the cinnamon became more apparent, but I could be wrong. The initial taste  still reminds me of the first bottle in that it’s pretty much all spices.  Overall, I would give it a 10-15% improvement on flavor but still very spice intense.  I’m starting to wonder if there is any amount of time that will cause the malts and spices to compliment each other and not override each other. Still way too sweet.

My thoughts are to still let this one sit.  Week 2 saw an improvement but it’s still pretty intense.

Prost!

2 responses to “Schlafly Pumpkin Ale (St. Louis Brewing Co.): Week 2

  1. I work for a distributor in the KCK metro area and the O’Fallon Pumpkin Spice has been outperforming most of the imports and almost all of our micros. With O’Fallon also being in the St. Louis area, I’d love to read a comparison between Schlafly’s and O’Fallon’s. We do not have distribution rights to Schlafly. Many thanks.

    P.S. I’ve been using your Tumblr and WordPress sites as guides to my return to beer. I’ve been without it for about nine months as a result of an infection picked up somewhere in the former Soviet Bloc. The beer will quench my thirst again in December. All the best.

    • Thanks for reading Curtis! O’Fallon Pumpkin Spice is not a beer I have seen in Manhattan. I would love to do a review of it. Since you work for a distributor perhaps you can have some sent to the Manhattan area (just kidding I know that isn’t how it works but worth a shot). The one problem with being just 2 hours from KC is the limit of distribution. I’ve found sometimes I have to drive an hour to Topeka just to find some not hard to find beer (things like Sierra Nevada, Left Hand, and others). I’ll keep looking for it and ask around and see if I can get some in. But I will have some other Pumpkin ale reviews coming up soon (Saranac, Buffalo Bill’s, and Lakefront).

      P.S. I’m sorry to hear about the infection you picked up in your worldly travels (but I bet the Baltic Porters were amazing). When you get better you should come visit me at the Tallgrass Brewery Tours and we’ll celebrate you getting better.

Leave a Reply

