Schlafly Pumpkin Ale: Week 3

Half way through the six pack of Schlafly Pumpkin Ale “did it come out too early?” test.  I know. We wrote it differently last time, but I think this way is easier to read. Maybe we should just shorten it to DICOTE. Would that be di-COTE? or dic-o-TE? Hmmm.

I must say that from week 2 to week 3 was a dramatic improvement in my opinion.  Agreed. I opened the bottle and poured it into my usual snifter glass and imediately thought it smelled and tasted more like pumpkin bread.  I believe he originally said banana bread, but maybe he meant pumpkin when he said it. The taste was still a little spicy for my taste, mine too, but I think this is closer to the taste they may have been shooting for.   Overall it reminded me of pumpkin bread.  It really is much nicer even though there is  still a lot of nutmeg and cinnamon happening but at least they seem much calmer now.  I’m starting to think perhaps there is hope for this one yet and I may have to take back my lack of faith after last week.  I would say there was a 50% improvement from week 1.  This might be really tasty by week 6, but we will see. I have high hopes.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

