Pumpkin Lager (Lakefront Brewery)

It’s almost the end of October and that means Halloween.  Due to this being Halloween week we’ve decided to make this Pumpkin beer week.  So each day this week we will have a different Pumpkin beer reviewed.  The first beer on the chopping block is Lakefront Brewery’s Pumpkin Lager.  The more I drink of Lakefront Brewery’s beers the more I like them.  In fact, I’ve been drinking them and didn’t realize it.  I recently drank New Grist and had no idea (which is odd as I’m a very observant person but somehow I didn’t pay attention to that at all).  No really. I get flack all the time about how nonobservant I am. The point is now I am paying attention and I’m impressed.  I’ve drank a lot of pumpkin beers in my day but I don’t recall a pumpkin lager.  I have to say well done Lakefront, well done.

The color is an orange-ish hue with an off white head.  The aroma was subtle spices compared to others I’ve had.  Basically a small sniff didn’t give me anything but a much larger sniff provided more spice smell.  I think it smells more pumpkiny and less spicy than most of the pumpkin ales we’ve had this fall. It’s cinnamony, but not too cinnamony. The taste was not as sweet as other pumpkin ales, it’s also lighter and crisper. It’s really nice to have a pumpkin beer that isn’t overly spicy.  

I think lager might be the way to go for pumpkin beers. At this point Lakefront Pumpkin Lager is in the running for my Thanksgiving dinner beer. I have to agree that a lager may be the way to go with pumpkin beers.  I really like when they aren’t overly sweet and spicy.  I’m thinking this one is so good that we may have a tough time getting through the others.  One thing we did notice on the bottle was the bottling date (3rd week of August).  I don’t know if this has helped the flavor but it is really tasty.  Perhaps next year we can do Lakefront Brewery’s Pumpkin Lager as the 6 week taste test.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

