Frog’s Hollow Double Pumpkin Ale (Hoppin’ Frog Brewery)

One problem with living in the Manhattan area is that sometimes you walk into liquor stores and there is a beer on the shelf you’ve never heard of.  In the case of Hoppin’ Frog I also hadn’t heard of the brewery.  I still don’t know much about them except that they make some great beer.  I haven’t had too many of their fine beers but the Silk Porter is mighty delicious.  My father really enjoys their beers.  He has had their Outta Kilter Wee Heavy Scotch Red, Barrel Aged B.O.R.I.S. Oatmeal-Imperial Stout, Silk Porter, IPA (I believe), and now their Frog’s Hollow Double Pumpkin Ale.  He says they are all really good.  I’ll have to get some in a few weeks and do some reviews on them.  At least this time around though I was able to steal a little bit of the Double Pumpkin for a picture and review since it’s Pumpkin beer week.

The color is an orange amber (which I’m sure is supposed to be copper) and the head is off white.  The aroma is sweet and slightly alcoholic (probably due to it being at 8.4% ABV).  There was also another smell that we both thought was nutmeg.  Guessed might be a more accurate term. I’m really good with spices, but it beer it’s different and harder. Turns out it was ginger (and yes we had to read the label because we were that stumped). I didn’t recognize the ginger until I read it. Then it was obvious. The taste was also sweet, but not too sweet, with a nice pumpkin flavored body mixed with ginger.  I thought it would be sweeter than it is from the aroma. The finish was of cinnamon which left a nice warming feeling.  I did notice that the sides of my tongue tasted like cinnamon (I know that seems odd but other than the finish I didn’t get much cinnamon sensation).  

The addition of ginger is really interesting. I’m not a fan of ginger beers alone, but somehow with pumpkin it’s good.  This beer is beyond unique and I can see why it won a gold at the Great American Beer Fest.  I highly recommend giving this one a try.

Prost!

One response to “Frog’s Hollow Double Pumpkin Ale (Hoppin’ Frog Brewery)

  1. Pingback: Saranac Pumpkin Ale (Matt Brewing Company) | Brewmiscuous

Leave a Reply

