Schlafly Pumpkin Ale: Week 6 (St. Louis Brewing Co.)

Wahoo! We made it! That’s right welcome to Week 6 of Schlafly Pumpkin Ale.  I know it’s been a long trip but we’ve reached the end.  And what better way to begin winding down Pumpkin week than with the last of the Schlafly Pumpkin Ale.  I must say too that I did not see this one coming.  Letting Schlafly Pumpkin Ale sit in your fridge for 6 weeks will make it taste better.

The aroma is the same as usual with the cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.  But the taste is a shocker.  I was not expecting the lack of spice in the main body of the beer.  Oh sure, it’s still there, but so subtle now it’s enjoyable.  I’ve mentioned this all week, but I love pumpkin beers that have a spice smell and not overwhelming spice flavor.  The first thing we both noticed was the lack of sweetness.  That seemed to have mellowed out a lot.  There is also a lovely cinnamon finish that’s subtle now and I found sitting at the back of the roof of my mouth.  One big thing I noticed that was different about this week was the warming sensation at the finish.  Wow.  I’m glad that it’s actually getting cool out. Otherwise I might be sweating.

Overall I would say letting Schlafly Pumpkin Ale sit in the fridge for 6 weeks to have gotten probably about 97% better.  Next year we plan to do this again but this time we won’t put the beer in the fridge.  See you next year at the Schlafly Pumpkin Ale did it come out too early month.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

