ESB Special Ale (Ska Brewing Co.)

For the longest time I have seen Ska Brewing’s offerings but never took the plunge.  I think it had to do with that irrational fear of canned beer. At least he admits it. I decided I needed to rectify that give them a try.  One problem I have with their packaging is the turtle stranglers they use to hold the beer.  I wish there was a better way of carrying a six pack of cans.  Other than that though pretty solid.  I had to do a bit of research on them and went straight to their website.   I noticed while perusing the website that they have a lot of flagship beers.  I’m not sure I’ve ever seen some of those around here.  I’ve seen their Robust Reincarnations and their canned beer (ESB, Blonde, and Modus Hoperandi) but none of the others ring a bell.  I hate seeing good beer pass by Kansas, but I hate not getting the full selection from a brewery just as much.  If you find some of their flagships let me know. I would love to get some.

The color is a kind of coppery amber with off white head .  The aroma is of citrus hops with a hint of caramel malt.  The taste is sweet with a slight citrusy bitterness and semi-dry.  It’s very easy to drink.  I’m a huge fan of ESBs (extra speical bitter, English style bitter, whatever).   This is a lovely and well made beer (apparently second canned microbrew behind only Dale’s Pale Ale).  I highly recommend them.

As I said earlier, one of the things that also turned me on to their beer was their website.  I know that seems weird but you have to check out their website. It’s like a comic book.  No seriously.  They have even created characters for each of their beers (and brewers).  Amusing and amazing.  Check them out.  Oh and if you don’t like cans yet they do bottle.  But remember cans are better for the beer and better for the environment.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

