Belhaven Scottish Ale (Belhaven Brewery Company LTD)

Back when I did the Schlafly Scotch Ale review I had a good friend request that I do Belhaven Scottish Ale.  Luckily for him, I had some in the fridge.  Unluckily, it took me a month to get the review posted (sorry about that Kazem).

At my real life job our schedule gets split up into 5 days (that’s four 9-hour days and one 8-hour day) and 4 days (all 9-hours long).  This means every other week I have Friday off.  The Friday I actually did this review was a rainy, cloudy, cool day.  In fact, the weather reminded me of what Scotland would be like had I ever visited the country.  Anyways it was rainy and cool and I thought it was the best time to do it.

The color is a brownish hue with a slight reddish tint (kind of a dark coppery amber color) with an off white head.  The aroma is malty with a subtle smokeiness.  The taste of the straight from the fridge bottle is not very tasty.  I thought the malt seemed muted and boring.  As it warmed though the caramel and smokiness comes out a little more.  It’s not the best Scottish ale I’ve had but this is the type of beer that would be good for sipping and hanging out with friends.  I’m more of a fan of scotch ales than scottish ales.  I like the combo of beer tasting like liquor.  You definitely don’t get that from this is a beer.

I know it’s not a American craft beer, but it is a good beer.  In fact, if you are sitting at a bar and they have Belhaven either on tap, bottle, or can (yes they can too) give it a try.  The Old World does make some really great stuff and this might at least open you up to a whole new set of beers.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

