New Grist (Lakefront Brewery)

Until we lived in Atlanta I had never even heard of Celiac disease, an autoimmune disease that damages the small intestine when gluten is consumed. Gluten is in most of the grains used to make beer including wheat, barley, and rye. One of our friends who just happens to be from Nebraska has this disease.  One of the first things I remember her telling me was how much she loved beer but couldn’t have any.  After hearing that, I decided to make it my mission to find more Celiac friendly beers. He really hates to see beer lovers deprived.

My first stop landed me with Lakefront Brewery’s New Grist which is made from sorghum and rice.  I seem to find this beer most places I go so it must be widely available. That’s good because since 5% of the population has Celiac disease. I’m sure they are spread out and this makes gluten free beer much more accessible.  We’ll provide a few more beers at the end of this review for those of you with Celiac disease or are just curious about what C4 beers taste like. C4 grains don’t have gluten. C3 grains do.

The color of the body was golden with a white head.  The aroma was crackery and a just a little grassy.  The taste was a little lemony, crackery sweet, and almost has a tartness to it.  The initial mouthfeel is of heavy carbonation but it smooths out quickly in the finish.  Other than that, there is not much else going on.

This is a session beer.  That means it will be lighter and not as high in alcohol content.  I would love to see them make some variations of New Grist (New Grist Amber, New Grist Dark, New Grist IPA; Lakefront I await the check for the ideas).

I would really like to see more breweries create alternative grain beers.  I really think every brewery should have at least one as a year-round brew.  Recently Tallgrass made a contract beer that was a sorghum Oktoberfest.  It was really good.  I don’t know if it was safe for people with Celiac disease, but it was really tasty and different.  Kudos to Lakefront Brewery for creating New Grist.

Having actually searched, I found there are a lot of Celica friendly beers.  Here’s a link to a site that lists several of them.  St. Peter’s Brewery is not listed, but I came across it the other day.

Prost!

6 responses to “New Grist (Lakefront Brewery)

  1. Pingback: New Grist (Lakefront Brewery) |…

  2. There are a number of GFree beers on the market. The biggest problem is that it is not widely available. Since you are in the Atlanta area you should be able to find all GFree beers in your area. Here in Nebraska, the chooses are slim and hard to come by. The Association is on a mission to increase the brewing and availability of GFree beers for the 3.7 million plus GFree beer drinkers in the US alone, not to mention all other countries.

    The US is behind the curve in diagnosing Celiac disease so we will continue to see an increase of folks diagnosed with this affliction instead of the miss diagnosis or bewilderment in their ailment until now. Thanks for caring and helping out your friend, there are many of us on a similar mission. For the record, of what I have been able to sample, Green’s Dubbel Dark is my favorite so far, give it a try. 🙂

    • Actually our friend lives in Atlanta but is from Nebraska. We currently live in Manhattan, KS and around here there are not many Gluten Free beers. I have had Green’s Dubbel Dark and it is fantastic. I should have another for review on here in the future. Thanks for reading and keep up the hard work of locating Gluten Free beers. Be sure to let me know what you find as I would love to get the word out.

  3. Have you tried Sprecher Brewing Company’s two gluten free beers? Mbege is an East African style beer made with banana juice and sorghum; Shakparo is a West African style beer made with sorghum and millet. Great, but not your typical tasting beers. One is more like a Belgian gueze and the other a bit cider-y.

    • I have not tried very many Sprecher Brewing Company beers. I live in the heart of Kansas and that is one brewery we do not get here. Well at least I’ve never seen it here. I’ve driven to KC and found your Root Beer (which is quite tasty) and I’ve flown to Wisconsin where I had a beer at the airport. Other than that I have not had that many.

    • Anne,

      It is my understanding that Sprecher is not currently making either of it’s Gluten Free beers (and not sure when or if they will again) after talking with the PR person. Is that not right?

Leave a Reply

