Brew Masters

As soon as this show was announced I knew I had found a new favorite show (I had to replace mine as they all either ended or were canceled).  Darn. Luckily you can’t go wrong with a show about beer.  Or can you?

I didn’t want to post my comments on this show until several episodes in as other blog posts have aired their problems with it from episode 1.  I don’t have any problems with it.  I love the show.  I think it is amazing.  I wish there was a little more history of the beer (mostly on a style) but I really enjoy this show.  I’ve been trying to find out if the show has done well enough to come back for a second season, but so far I have not found anything.  The Discovery Channel website shows only 5 episodes total.  I hope this is just a mid-season break and they will bring the show back for more in the Spring.  I guess we will all find out soon enough.

I really hope they are renewing the show, but in a way I hope to see a different brewery.  And by “in a way” he means they should do a different brewery. I think it would go over really well to showcase different breweries and different styles of brewing. Plus it would be more fun and not just be a show about Dogfish Head. Dogfish Head is one of my favorite breweries but I would also love to see other breweries getting the spotlight.  We love them, but we also love Rogue, New Belgium, Sierra Nevada, Big Sky, Schlafly, Sweetwater, 21st Amendment (did we ever post a review of Hell or High Watermelon Wheat? I know what you’re thinking and you’re wrong. All real watermelon, no fake watermelon gum flavor) Tallgrass… (I really couldn’t leave them off of this list) and others would be great to show different sizes and creation methods.  They could even highlight things such as going green, packaging changes, a small brewery expanding.  Anything is possible, as long as the show isn’t cancelled.

So reserve a spot on the couch for the last of the 5 episodes this Thursday.  Tell your friends to watch too.  Discovery says the episode name is Ancient Ale which since I’m also an archaeologist I will be watching intently (probably while drinking Dogfish Head’s Midas Touch). Guess I’m picking that up today at Goebel’s.

Prost!

One response to “Brew Masters

  1. I just read on the Washington Post that the show is still up in the air. No cancellations as of yet. I guess there was 6 episodes and the last one will air in March or sometime near that (I guess instead of canceling the show they will give it quick death by dragging out the last episode). Here’s the link
    http://voices.washingtonpost.com/all-we-can-eat/beer/beer-tracking-dogfish.html

Leave a Reply

