Oatmeal Stout (Free State Brewing Co.)

I’ll admit that I bought this beer at the same time as the other Free State Brewing Company beers (which happens to have been around July or August).  The only reason I was waiting to review this one was because I wanted to use my Free State Brewing glass in the picture. If you haven’t noticed I happen to have a lot of glasses from breweries and I like to occasionally put them in the pictures I take of the beer.  I wasn’t able to access the Free State glass because all of our stuff was in storage.  Once we moved in to our new house and were somewhat settled in I busted it out and did a quick review of Oatmeal Stout. Then it took me another month to post it. Oops. This was the last of the four Free State is currently offering for distribution.  And to be perfectly honest, my favorite.

The body color is black with a tan head.  The aroma is of coffee roastedness.  Not much else, just coffee.  The taste is much the same as the aroma, primarily coffee.  Although there is a slight hint of chocolate to go along with the smoothness.  It is really quite good.

It is similar to Buffalo Sweat but not as sweet.  There is way more roasted bitterness in it (very much like coffee).  It’s also a little drier due to the lack of sweetness.  I highly recommend this one.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

