Montana Trout Slayer Ale (Big Sky Brewing Co.)

Back when I did the Summer Honey review I made a comment about Moose Drool.  My friend Dustin (and now brewer for James River Brewing) said he disagreed with my take.  Although after clarification he realized I didn’t say the beer was bad it was just served to me wrong (i.e. a frozen glass).  But since then I decided to work my way back to Moose Drool.  I really haven’t had a lot of Big Sky Brewing’s offerings but I’m going to try to get through as many of them as I can.  The next stop for me was Montana Trout Slayer Ale. 

The color was a very clear dark gold body and a white head.  The aroma was lemony/citrusy and slightly wheaty or crackery.  The taste was semi sweet, slightly crackery, and a hint of citrus.  Overall there doesn’t seem to be much going on.  But it is a good drinkable ale.  There just isn’t anything that stands out but it would be a great fishing beer.  I did find out that it is a filtered wheat ale.  Filtered wheat is not something you see everyday.  Based on that alone Trout Slayer has moved up on my list of beers to drink during the summer.

Big Sky Brewing does make some great beer.  If I did more fishing this would be at the top of my list for taking with me.  Two things are keeping me from doing that; I don’t fish very often (I think it’s been 5 years since the last time I went) and it’s in bottles.  Cans are easier to take and dispose of.  Come on Big Sky I know you can your beers.  Kansas would like those cans.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

